29.6 C
New York
Sunday, June 26, 2022

FG orders reopening of four more land borders

FG orders reopening of four more land borders

In August 2019, the Federal Government ordered the reopening of four land crossings that had been closed.

This was revealed in a circular issued by the Deputy Comptroller-General E. I. Edorhe on behalf of the Comptroller-General of Customs, headlined “Re-opening of four more Nigerian border stations.”

Jibiya border post in Katsina State, Ikom border post in Cross River State, Idiroko border post in Ogun State, and Kamba border post in Kebbi State are among the four to be reopened.

The backstory
The Federal Government declared the absolute closure of land borders in October 2019, prohibiting both legitimate and illegitimate commodities movement in and out of the nation.

The border closures were part of the government’s efforts to restrict the smuggling of illicit weaponry, food, and agricultural items in order to boost local production.

President Muhammadu Buhari ordered the immediate restoration of four of Nigeria’s land borders in December 2020, more than a year after they were entirely closed. Seme, Illela, Maigatari, and Mfun are among the boundaries.

Land Borders
AIHS 2022

What the circular expresses

Joint Border Patrol Teams were ordered to provide effective border manning in accordance with existing operational rules by the circular.

“I am directed to inform you that four additional borders listed below have been approved for re-opening as a result of the Presidential directive dated December 16, 2020, granting approval for phased reopening of land borders namely; Mfum, Seme, Illela, and Maigatari borders across the country,” it said.

“Idiroko border post (South-West Zone); Jibiya border post (North-West Zone); Kamba border post (North-West Zone); and Ikom border post (Cross River State)” (South-South Zone)

“As a result, all Customs formations and Joint Border Patrol Teams should take notice of this and ensure that sufficient manning is carried out in accordance with existing operational procedures.”

“Above is forwarded for your information and compliance,” the circular said, copying all Assistant Comptrollers-General/Zonal Coordinators, Area Controllers, Comptroller, Federal Operations Unit & Marine Commands, Comptroller, Customs Intelligent Unit, JBPT Sector Coordinators, Strike Force Commanders, and Heads of Units.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles